more

In the past, I worked as a play therapist with children with autism. This Mom and her blog have given me so much more insight and I wish I could have read it as I was working with my two, wonderful “clients.” Oh how I miss them, now that I have retired. Barb

a diary of a mom

*

Screen shot 2013-04-30 at 5.29.35 AM

Diary’s Facebook status – yesterday

~

There are studies on what I’m about to write. Lots of them. There are scores of posts out there on the topic, undoubtedly far better written than this one. Certainly they are better referenced and include links to, ya know, sciency stuff — studies and the like.

I’ll do my best to include some of that later, but I’m not writing as a scientist, or a doctor, or even a journalist. I’m writing as a mom. A mom who has begun to understand that, in the case of my daughter, there’s a fatal flaw in the autism zeitgeist. And it’s been getting me, and I dare say a lot of parents, into trouble.

It took a while for me to recognize that there is often a significant disconnect between what I think I see and what Brooke is actually experiencing. I tend to…

View original post 1,111 more words

3 thoughts on “more

  1. You still have your full time autistic doggy. Plus, you made a difference for your two human clients. You are one of God’s angels. I know this is true because I am lucky enough to be married to you. Don’t be sad because of the past. Be your best each day and you’re bound to have a positive effect on all that you come in contact with. I am so proud of how much you’ve grown since the day we met. With your help, I too have grown during our time together. I love you all the way around the universe, an infinite number of times. ;~]

    Your guy, Dale

Leave a Reply

